Confessions of a Tantrum Thrower: Day One

30 Jan

(Prefunk Background: When I went to school we called partying before an event prefunking. I have no idea why, or at least, I didn’t until I looked online five minutes ago. But sometimes I will want to preface posts. So this will be called the prefunk. You’re asking why… I have no answer.)

Onto the…

Prefunk (As a side note, I keep typing that VERY WRONG… I even Googled it wrong, and in case anyone looking at my browser history is wondering… that was an accident.):

You’ll notice there is no picture to this post. That is because I imagined a conversation in which I would ask for my husband’s help. I thought it would go something like this:

Me: Will you pretend to throw a tantrum so I can take a picture?
Husband: No.
Me: Will you take a picture of me pretending to throw a tantrum?
Husband: No.

Oh *SNAP!*

Then the conversation actually went like this…

Me: Will you pretend to throw a tantrum so I can take a picture?
Husband: No.
Me: Will you take a picture of me pretending to throw a tantrum?
Husband: No.

So I win! But I also lose… because there is no picture. So use your imagination.

*STOMPS FOOT*… *LOOKS PETULANT*

The actual blog (Ya’ll are like… finally):

***

Confessions of a Tantrum Thrower Day: Day One

I lied to you gals and guys. In this very recent post, in fact. In my post about world peace, I wrote these words:

“When you just want to sink down on the floor like you haven’t since you were four and throwing a tantrum. All energy melted from your bones and defeat triumphing…”

I have a confession.

I still throw tantrums.

There, I said it.

In my first post I insinuated that I’m mature and adult, and that’s just a big, huge lie. In fact, the last time I melted to the floor in a display of major tantrum-dom I was twenty-something and it was three weeks ago.

I don’t know why exactly that I can’t express myself in a healthy way. I just never learned to cope, and it comes out in foot stomps and floor melting.

I KNOW. It’s really ridiculous and destroys my credibility. But I felt like a big liar as soon as I posted that, and I didn’t think my last post was a good place for this confession.

Confessing I still throw tantrums probably drains my credibility. But when I went through Kristen Lamb’s blogging class and decided to figure out who I am, I promised myself I wouldn’t lie or exaggerate for the sake of this blog.

Now, occasionally something might slip through on accident. For the most part, I promise to be honest with you, readers. You’re all I have. *cues violins*

But seriously, I’m honored you read and visit. I won’t throw tantrums on the blog, or at least, I’ll try not to…

Why? Because tantrums are private. Obviously.

And I leave those strictly for my husband. He’s so lucky. I know you’re all thinking that. I tell him that EVERY DAY.

Kidding. Most days I just look at him and think… Why are you still here? Haaa. That reveals so much more about me than I ever wanted you to know. *melts down to the floor*

Anyway, so I throw tantrums in real life. Yep. I don’t even have an interactive question to add to that.

Tune in Friday to see why tantrum throwing is okay. No really, I have proof. I dare you not to laugh at the video I have planned. I dare you!

And if you find yourself relating to this post, I wouldn’t mind you admitting so in the comments. You know, so I don’t feel like a loser.

Or nod along in silence. You don’t have to make any confessions out loud right now. It might be too soon. Just remember, we’re in this together.

No pressure… Just saying. 🙂

-Kinley Baker (@kinleybaker)

20 Responses to “Confessions of a Tantrum Thrower: Day One”

  1. Christine Ashworth January 30, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    I don’t throw tantrums. I don’t know why, but I never have. I used to get wildly upset, but not so much anymore. Maybe that’s a function of age? I haven’t seen my twenties in quite a while…fun stuff, Kinley!

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

      Haha. It’s one of those things that’s so ridiculous, I can’t keep a straight face even when I am angry. Definitely lightens the mood. 🙂

  2. Ryan King January 30, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    Tantrums. I don’t think I could see someone stomp their feet without cracking a smile these days. That of course would probably send you further off the edge if you saw me smile at one of these tantrums. Maybe not in the way that you want but at least your hubby can still make you “melt down to the floor”. 😉

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      Lol, Ryan! I can’t stop from cracking a smile either. I want to be upset, but even I know it’s not a great way to express anything. Makes me laugh.

  3. jamielynnboothe January 30, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    You know what I think? I think you are human!! There I said it, please forgive me lmao 🙂

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      Lol! So true, Jamie Lynn. Completely human, despite my desire to possess supernatural abilities. I think sometimes it’s good to poke a little fun at our quirks. We all have them. 🙂

      • jamielynnboothe January 30, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

        Oh yeah I agree, we have to be able to laugh at ourselves sometimes for sure. We can’t take life TOO seriously.

  4. darcyflynn January 30, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Oh, I so get you darlin’! Lol I can’t say I’ve ever had tantrums, per se, but I have had a few melt downs in my life. And let me just tell you, they mostly happened when I was a young bride. Not so much in the past 20 years. 🙂
    That confessed, your honest, unique, adorable self is shinning through, beautifully! I am hooked. I can now, not never read your posts.
    Did that double negative come through for you? Not sure I wrote it correctly, but you get what I’m saying, right?
    I’m so looking forward to you next post!!!

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

      You are so kind, Darcy! Thank you. I read you! Sometimes a nice pout feels necessary. But even while I do it, I know it’s ridiculous and part of me is laughing. So glad you’re looking forward to the next post. 😀

  5. Lindsey Carmichael January 30, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    No tantrums, although I occasionally get so overwhelmed that I start uncontrollably shaking and hyperventilating. If we call that an “anxiety attack” I can probably get away with claiming it’s medical!

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      Hi Lindsey! Yes, I relate to that. I hope things get better! It’s easy to get overwhelmed now-a-days.

  6. Sarah Mäkelä (@sarahmakela) January 30, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    I haven’t thrown a tantrum in quite a while, but the melting to the floor due to emotions… perhaps! LOL Maybe even a few bipolar mood swings too. =P

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      Haha. Yeah. The melting to the floor thing is my go to. My husband calls that a tantrum. Whatever! Lol. We all have mood swings. I’m trying to level mine out. Stay calm. *deep breath*

  7. Diana Beebe January 30, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    I’ve had one or two tantrums in my adult life. Not pretty. Now, I have tantrums in my head where no one can see them, not even my husband. LOL. No one wants to see me that way.

    Loved this post, Kinley!

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Lol! That’s brilliant. I actually did take a lesson from my dog. He’s king of the silent sulk. He just sits there and stares at me until I’m like… I’ll do whatever you want! It works much better than foot stomping. Thanks, Diana. 🙂

  8. Janet Givens January 30, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Temper Tantrums. What a great topic for adults to think about. What is a temper tantrum, actually. I mean, is it subjective, in the eye of the beholder? Or absolute. (you call THAT a temper tantrum? Get real!) Is it measurable or rather more of an art form? Does it have to be loud or can it be silent? Must it involve physical movement (kicking, punching) that others can see or can it remain a private affair. I think I’ve always assumed a real temper tantrum is public, absolute, and very, very noisy. And exhausting. And oh so very very freeing.

    • kinleybaker January 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      Wow, great insight, Janet. There’s a whole scale of temper tantrums, and it really is an interesting topic for adults. I guess I count anything on the scale as a tantrum. You’ll have to visit on Friday to see my example of a ten on the scale. Lol. But great point. I think all those things are considerations. Personally, I think tantrums should be a private affair. Not everyone feels that way. 🙂 Love your comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Is Adult Tantrum Throwing Okay? (Video) « Kinley Baker's Blog - February 1, 2013

    […] comments on Wednesday’s post were fantastic. I now view tantrum throwing through a perspective I never before imagined. Some of […]

  2. Slaying the Worry Dragon « Kinley Baker's Blog - February 13, 2013

    […] out internally. I throw myself down on the ground in defeat (only in my head, of course. I never throw tantrums. […]

  3. We did whaaat? Trains, dragons, and pageant dreams | Kinley Baker's Blog - March 4, 2013

    […] I’m pretty sure the consensus was that adult tantrum throwing is okay in the privacy of your own home and without […]

Leave a Reply

