That Awkward Moment When History Was Joking… But We Took Them For Reals

8 Feb

Continuing with Wednesday’s post about creepy ice cream trucks (because that whole idea went over so strangely), I have one question…

Who decided this was a good idea?

(Scroll down for a video of the creepiest ice cream truck OF ALL TIME.)

***

The world is a crazy place. Our society is basically made up of a ton of things that someone else at one point in history decided was a good idea.

They aren’t around now to laugh.

A random historical figure: “Someone actually believed me when I suggested ice cream trucks? That was a joke…”

Kinley Baker, Romance Author, Thumbs Up, Socially Constructed, Hands

Thumbs Up Because Someone Says!
What…
You Want To Know Who?
We Don’t Know!
Just Someone!
by Kinley Baker

The truth is that no one really knows what they’re doing. We’re all making everything up.

We see this all the time when “experts” tell us to eat margarine instead of butter because it’s healthier. Then twenty-five years later, some other “expert” tells us that butter is better after all.

How are we supposed to keep up with all the things we’re supposed to do?

Sometimes I worry about people who give out advice. It’s like, I dwell on my shortcomings… Your confidence makes me suspicious.

So many questions… Millions of answers. How do we know the right choices?

This is what terrifies me about the prospect of having children.

You have to decide very important, life changing things like if you’re going to give your kid toothpaste with SIMUTPBX (Special Imaginary Made Up Toothpaste Brand X).

These types of scenarios spiral out of control in my brain.

You want your child to have healthy teeth, don’t you? Have you seen the studies that directly relate tooth health to overall health?

A good parent would make sure his/her son or daughter had healthy teeth…

So you buy the expensive brand of toothpaste from the dentist. With the best of intentions.

Meanwhile, the anti-SIMUTPBX board is hosting rallies about how terrible SIMUTPBX is to give children. If you give your children SIMTUPBX, you are a bad parent!

And teeth are just the start of the conundrum. An important part if you’ve read those studies.

There are all these decisions we have to take responsibility for as a parent, and society feels like they have the right to judge us for those tough choices.

That’s a heavy burden to bear.

All this time, we’re trying to figure out what’s best for our children, and at some point someone decided that creepy ice cream trucks are a good idea.

The scary, twinkle music alone makes me edgy.

I walk down the street thinking… this is the point in the scary movie when they pan the nice, innocent neighborhood with all the kids playing. Then: BAM.

*Something bad happens.*

I would include more detail here, but I don’t watch the scary part of scary movies, so I don’t know what happens during those scenes.

Here is a video to PROVE what I’m saying. This is the buildup in a scary movie if I’ve ever seen one (WARNING: Adult Language. Recommended for 18+):

I use the phrasing that the world is “socially constructed” because it’s true. Everything we believe is a product of our Ancestors.

If you could make something different, what would you choose? Even the smallest ideas would have such drastic results, it’s hard to imagine.

I’m not saying I’d get rid of ice cream trucks PER SAY. But I might have changed the music.

Can you imagine rap music busting out from an ice cream truck? I bet this happens, but I’ve never seen it. I’d have to get down with my mad dance skills in the middle of the street.

That was a joke. I have no mad skills.

(Well, I think I do. But public opinion argues differently)

🙂

Happy Friday! I have no idea what I’m posting on Monday. I’m a rebel that way. But there will be a post. And it won’t be about ice cream trucks, because frankly, I’ve been craving ice cream all week.

What’s your favorite ice cream? I think I’ll break down and go buy a carton. Suggestions?

Kinley Baker (@kinleybaker)

2 Responses to “That Awkward Moment When History Was Joking… But We Took Them For Reals”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t Take Candy from Strangers… Unless It’s Ice Cream « Kinley Baker's Blog - February 8, 2013

    […] We’ll be diving deeper into this issue on Friday with the post: That Awkward Moment When History Was Joking… But We Took Them For Reals […]

  2. We did whaaat? Trains, dragons, and pageant dreams | Kinley Baker's Blog - March 4, 2013

    […] Despite intentions to the contrary, I scared and freaked you out with my ice cream truck post. I’ll just continue to apologize for that for, well, ever. If that wasn’t bad enough, I followed it up with a video of the creepiest ice cream truck ever. […]

Leave a Reply

