We did whaaat? Trains, dragons, and pageant dreams

4 Mar

Because of course they all go together.

Welcome to the debut of We Did Whaaat? The blog’s monthly wrap-up.

My new site is over one month old. I’m very excited about this. When I started I almost told you what I wanted to accomplish with this blog, but I took a hint from the writer handbook and decided to show instead of tell.

How’d that go? *bites nails*

Did we laugh? Did we cry?

(A good cry or a this is horrible cry?)

Since now you all want to read more (lol), here’s a recap of some of the things we talked about.

I was pleasantly surprised by how many of you are open to embracing the ridiculously optimistic resolution for the pageant dream of world peace.

Despite intentions to the contrary, I scared and freaked you out with my ice cream truck post. I’ll just continue to apologize for that for, well, ever. If that wasn’t bad enough, I followed it up with a video of the creepiest ice cream truck ever.

I also attempted to start The Rap Revolution (I believe rapping about staplers was mentioned in the comments?). We’re still recruiting on that, in case you’re late to the party. You can never be late to the party on this blog.

We went positive and optimistic after the negativity of the internet got to me.

And I was honest about my struggle with The Worry Dragon. I was delighted with the response to that post. Although I’m still not sure if I accidentally managed an inappropriate title.

Don’t forget The Shopping Cart dance move flash mob.

Oh, and you all seemed to like Prickly: The Balloon Animal Making Porcupine. So much so that he’s a little full of himself. Now he insists on wearing shades everywhere. I told him that was so 90s. He argued that stars still do it.

Prickly, Porcupine, Kinley Baker, Romance Author, Sunglasses, Hollywood

Too cool for Kinley.

I realized I can be a huge thoughtless jerk. Then days later made a counteroffer by professing my sincerity. I asked my husband if he would read my post on me being sincere, but he said no, because he doesn’t read lies. *insert, oh no he didn’t, expression here*

I think a lot of you like getting angry at lime green baskets. GRRR. All together now. Free that fury on a healthy target. And look! A puppy.

Joker, Puppies, Dog, Cute, Animals, Kinley Baker, Romance Author

How long do I have to hold this pose?

I rounded things out with a question everyone should ask their life partner and a confession about how I really feel about zombies. The Walking Dead may or may not make an appearance in that post.

And I’m pretty sure the consensus was that adult tantrum throwing is okay in the privacy of your own home and without webcams.

The top search for the blog this first month was “Adult Video”, which is completely awkward and probably what happens when you show an adult throwing a tantrum, but tag it with adult video. Lesson learned.

I really hope to create a positive community here and get to know all of you. At least four of you told me you laughed this last month, so I’m walking on air. 😀

On the writing front, a reviewer said Draybeth and Barrett from Excuse My Fairy are kind of a modern Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth. I’m only sharing here because it kind of made my life. When I told my husband, he said I can’t post things on the internet and pretend other people wrote them. DUDE. So here’s that review, to prove it wasn’t me. And since we’re wrapping things up, just FYI, I really do love my husband, despite what I post here.

Keep up the good fight, and I hope to see you around again. They’re trying to stop the train, but I just keep chugging.

Thank you so much for all the support this first month. I hope the best is yet to come. Your feedback has been great, and I can’t wait to hear from you.

May the strange rock on.

Kinley Baker (@kinleybaker)

19 Responses to “We did whaaat? Trains, dragons, and pageant dreams”

  1. Diana Beebe March 4, 2013 at 1:40 am #

    Great wrap-up, Kinley! And you were worried about getting started. {Hugs} That’s really fun news about the book review. I’m glad you shared it here.

    • kinleybaker March 4, 2013 at 3:49 am #

      Thank you, Diana! I was worried, but it’s been a fun ride so far. I thought it was good news. 🙂

  2. darcyflynn March 4, 2013 at 2:59 am #

    Thanks for the recap! I missed a couple and your links to them are much appreciated!

  3. lynettemburrows March 4, 2013 at 3:22 am #

    Great job, Kinley. And a great idea for a post. Love it!

  4. Naomi Baltuck March 4, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    A fun blog, Kinley!

  5. Catherine Cavendish March 4, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    Great blog!

  6. melissafoxwords March 4, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    Saw your note on the GSRWA loop and came by to check it out – what fun! I recently heard good advice from a marketing expert that letting your freak flag fly not only is more enjoyable for everyone but helps set you apart. Good job – looks like all kinds of fun happening here!

    • kinleybaker March 4, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Hi Melissa! So glad you stopped by. I agree, and I think the way writers view the world is interesting. Lots of material. 🙂

  7. Renee Field March 4, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    love the new blog post.

  8. Joni Hahn March 5, 2013 at 12:32 am #

    I love this, Kinley! What a great mash-up.

    And this just cracks me up: “When I told my husband, he said I can’t post things on the internet and pretend other people wrote them. DUDE. So here’s that review, to prove it wasn’t me.” Hilarious! Thanks for the vote of confidence, hubby! 🙂

    • kinleybaker March 5, 2013 at 3:38 am #

      Thank you, Joni!

      Lol. He thinks he’s funny. We laugh at the same jokes unless we’re telling them to each other. Then we both think we’re hilarious and the other person doesn’t always agree. Of course, I’ll laugh at anything so I generally laugh at all his jokes. He’s much better at not laughing at mine.

      • Joni Hahn March 5, 2013 at 3:44 am #

        LOL. My dh is good at telling me some falsehood with a serious face and I fall for it. Then he starts laughing or I find out from someone else that he was pulling my leg. You’d think after 25 years I’d catch on. 🙂

  9. lynnkelleyauthor March 6, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Yay, Kinley, congrats on one month of blogging! You’re off to a wonderful start. I really like this idea of recapping the month’s posts!

    • kinleybaker March 6, 2013 at 3:47 am #

      Thank you, Lynn! I appreciate you stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

