Appreciating the rainy window

6 Mar

I wake up wanting to be sunshine.

Since I hit my deadlines, I’ve been more like this:
Rain, Windows, Rain Drops, Water, Kinley Baker, Romance Author

I can’t even pretend I’m funny today.

This must be the post-book-slump. I think it’s like anything in life.

With every achievement, there’s a slice of reality.

I’m trying to throw in at least a moderate joke. A sad attempt. Something ridiculously cheesy (if you don’t know how much I like cheese, you don’t know me at all).

I got nothing! Not even a knock knock.

Although early early this morning at 3 when I couldn’t sleep, I did watch an episode of Full House where a little Michelle called into expensive 900 numbers to get jokes.

She got sent to bed early.

I could go that path.

I see the appeal.

Or I could link to an inspiring post by Kristen Lamb called “To Find Success, Learn to Embrace the Meantime.”

I’m going to enjoy standing still for a minute. Beyond the blur in my picture above is my favorite place. What we can’t see clearly is still there. We just need to appreciate the now. Tomorrow can be the sunshine. It’s not really any brighter than this moment.

May you have peace today. Or if not, enjoy your rainy window. I’ll think of you as I stare out mine. Err… I mean, no that’s creepy.

*awkward silence*

*stares out window*

Okay, that made me smile a little.

Embracing the now is totally working.

🙂

Kinley Baker (@kinleybaker)

13 Responses to “Appreciating the rainy window”

  1. jamielynnboothe March 6, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Good morning and thank you Kinley for writing this and making me smile. Still trying to wake up myself but along with my coffee reading your blog as well as Kristen Lambs certainly helps. I need to get off my buttocks so to speak and write on my blog I do believe. I love what you write, so please continue 🙂 Have a great day. ((( HUGS )))

    • Kinley Baker March 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

      Good morning, Jamie Lynn! I’m glad this made you smile and thank you. I loved Kristen’s post. I’ll keep blogging through all the moods of writing. 🙂

  2. Author Kristen Lamb March 6, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

    You’re STILL funny. I love your blogs. They read like prose. Can’t have the rainbow without the rain. ((HUGS))

    • Kinley Baker March 6, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      Thank you, Kristen! And for yesterday’s and today’s posts. You’re so right. Important advice for us writerly folks and anyone really. I like the rain! I just have to remember that. Lol.

  3. August McLaughlin March 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    Lovely post, Kinley. Pleased to meet you and your blog!
    Rainbows follow storms, for all of us. I believe that. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker March 6, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

      Oh, thank you, August! Nice to meet you! I love your blog and often read. 🙂 I believe that, too. And I’ve always been a fan of storms. It’s just applying that to real life that’s more challenging. Thanks for visiting.

  4. KM Huber March 6, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Nicely done, Kinley, in words that speak to every one of us. Thanks!
    Karen

    • Kinley Baker March 6, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      Thanks, Karen! I’m glad the words speak to you. I wasn’t sure, but I felt I had to be honest about my slump. 🙂

  5. Cassi Carver March 6, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    I think the slump is real, especially if you’re a major deadline writer like me. It’s a rush and it’s exhausting and the whole world revolves around it–and then what? Back to dishes, laundry, and the post-deadline dirty house. LOL Hugs to you, Kinley!

    • Kinley Baker March 6, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

      Thank you, Cassi! That’s funny. I have a huge closet project to tackle this weekend. I just can’t put it off anymore. 🙂

  6. Diana Beebe March 7, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    You always make me smile. Wonderful post. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker March 7, 2013 at 3:30 am #

      That’s the best compliment ever, Diana. Thank you! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We did whaaat? Unlikable people, rainy windows, and dance battles | Kinley Baker's Blog - April 1, 2013

    […] really appreciate all of you who could relate to the rainy window. Your support made me […]

Leave a Reply

