Long overdue love ode: When’s the last time you gave Friday a flower?

22 Mar

Dear Friday,

I just wanted to tell you that you look really pretty today.
I was thinking that maybe you’re under-appreciated and thought hey,
when’s the last time I gave Friday a flower?

A day deserves some loving when it has so much power.
A day deserves some loving when it never, ever cowers.

All I can do is honor you with this horrible poem.
And know that every time you come around, I no longer feel alone.

I love you, Friday.
Don’t tell my husband.
I love you, Friday.
You should be in a rock band.

I give you one flower for always being dependable.
I give you another flower for always being reasonable.

You come at the end of the week, but you’re really the beginning.
You’re modest, but every time you come around I feel like I’m winning.

Thank you, Friday.

Here’s a flower:

Kinley Baker, Romance Author, Fridays, Flowers, Give Friday a Flower, Roses

So… what kind of flower are you giving Friday?

Fair warning: Even a hint of enthusiasm for this poem will probably lead to more poetry about inanimate objects. You’ve been cautioned.

Kinley Baker (@kinleybaker)

9 Responses to “Long overdue love ode: When’s the last time you gave Friday a flower?”

  1. Joy Dent March 22, 2013 at 2:24 am #

    Love Fridays! You make me wish every day was a Friday! 🙂 Wait…isn’t that a restaurant slogan! LOL Fun post!

    • Kinley Baker March 22, 2013 at 3:11 am #

      Lol, Joy. I think it is a restaurant slogan. It’s a brilliant slogan. Your encouragement already has me crafting a poem about my washing machine. I apologize in advance.

  2. Diana Beebe March 22, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    HIlarious…warning and all. 😉 On Monday, I’ll be thinking about Friday. I may have to write my own ode to Friday! You may have started something very scary, Kinley…

    • Kinley Baker March 22, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      LOL. I inspire to begin scary trends like writing poetry to Friday. Then I can tell the world, “You’re welcome!”

  3. Joni Hahn March 23, 2013 at 12:57 am #

    I think I’ll give Friday wheat flour so I can fri something – get it, *fri* something. Nevermind…

    I love Friday but, it only comes around once a week. WTH? I need the atmosphere of Friday *every* day of the week. But of course, I wouldn’t appreciate it as much if days like Monday didn’t roll around. sigh A necessary evil.

    Anyway, enough of my rambling. I think this is a very sweet post and I have no doubt Friday loves it. (BTW, I am a sucker for flowers. I love them)

    I personally hate my front-loading washing machine so more power to you on writing that poem. Mine would be a threat letter.

    • Kinley Baker March 25, 2013 at 2:29 am #

      LOL. Your comment made me laugh, Joni. 🙂 I love flowers, too.

  4. susanjaymes March 27, 2013 at 12:10 am #

    I love the poem. Very creative.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We did whaaat? Unlikable people, rainy windows, and dance battles | Kinley Baker's Blog - April 1, 2013

    […] encouraged me with the bad poetry, so I apologize in advance for when I post more of […]

Leave a Reply

