The problem with protesting too much

26 Apr

As some of you know, Wednesday was Admin Day. Many people visited the blog for the first time because they must have Googled the phrase. My husband’s response was that people were trying to figure out if Admin Day was a real thing.

Oh, burn.

Lol. Basically, every year I get excited about Admin Day. And every year I regret bringing it up. Because people say thank you, and they are very nice, but it inevitably ends up awkward (because of me).

This year I walked into work, and there was a plaque above my desk that said: “World’s Greatest Administrative Professional.”

I did not make that sign.

Do you believe me?

Because I really didn’t make it.

But all day I felt the need to assure people that I was not the person who made this sign.

Which of course made people think I made the sign.

Because who goes out of their way to preemptively warn people about a sign they didn’t make unless they made it (unless you’re me)?

I didn’t make it. You all believe me, right?

Honest.

Hello? Did you all run away?

Shucks.

For those of you remaining…

*crickets*

Have a nice weekend.

Also, thank you very much to the person who made the sign (because it wasn’t me). It was very thoughtful and kind! You’re awesome.

The sign = awesome. The way I handled it = awkward.

Who’s surprised?

😉

sky, beautiful, kinley baker, author kinley baker, romance author, clouds, blue

It’s sunny around here. Enjoy the day!

-Kinley

4 Responses to “The problem with protesting too much”

  1. Diana Beebe April 26, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I have images of you with this sign above your head and you pointing it out to everyone. 🙂 LOL. That was very sweet for someone to make it for you. Did you ever find out who did?

    • Kinley Baker April 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      Lol. Who me? Actually, it was more like they brought up the sign and then the first thing out of my mouth was, “I didn’t make it!” In which awkwardness ensued. 🙂 Yes, I found out. I told her I appreciate it.

  2. Pauline Baird Jones April 26, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    LOLOL! “The lady doth protest too much…” Have no idea who said it, but yeah, can bite you on the tush. I believe you, btw. Cause you so would not make that sign. (I actually thought this was about protesting things, like war, etc and how after a time people just don’t hear you anymore. LOL But this works, too. grin)

    • Kinley Baker April 26, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      LOL. I originally titled the post: The egomaniac plaque. Maybe I should have gone with that. You have a good point. I actually have a similar post about complaining, which is along the same lines. Maybe I’ll have to post that next week.

Leave a Reply

