Choosing to believe the best and my new BFF Little Bird

3 May

Life is hard. Sometimes, we just have to choose to believe the best.

One day this week, when my husband was pulling into our garage, he kept looking behind him.

“What?!” I demanded. My first thought was: fire, intruder, apocalypse. As is normal for the eternally paranoid.

Instead of any of those things, he said, “I think that’s a dead bird.”

I was way sad face about it because we’ve had a few dead rabbits turn up lately and this is more proof that we do indeed have a neighborhood problem. I know what you’re thinking. Werewolves. I know, that was my first thought, too.

I know nature works its way for a reason, but I’m kind of a pro at mourning strangers and animals I just met.

We get out of the car and it turns out, it’s not a dead bird at all!

It’s a baby!

Meet Little Bird. Named after the television show Little Bear.

birds, cute, animals, baby birds, Kinley Baker, Author Kinley Baker, Romance Author, choosing to believe the best

“My parents left me on your doorstep. They said they’d be back later…”

Isn’t he adorable? I will love him forever.

Of course my husband was like: “Don’t touch him!”

My response: “It honestly never occurred to me!”

Selective germaphobes do not touch random wild animals.

But anyway, so this baby bird hung out there for a while.

Then he was gone. And this is the core of the post.

I choose to believe his parents came back for him. I choose to believe that he’s off in another part of the neighborhood causing adolescent mischief. I choose to believe these things, even if that does make me naive or optimistic.

Did it occur to me another animal might have eaten him? Yes.

Did it occur to me that Little Bird didn’t get a happy ending?

Yes.

But I choose to believe he’s with his family in a happier place.

Because life is hard. Life sucks. Sometimes, you just have to choose to believe the best. No good comes from dwelling on the bad.

I doubt I’ll see Little Bird again, but I won’t forget him.

He showed up in my driveway, and that makes him part of my life.

He’ll grow older and have a good life. I choose to believe that.

-Kinley

 

4 Responses to “Choosing to believe the best and my new BFF Little Bird”

  1. darcyflynn May 3, 2013 at 1:57 am #

    Oh, I love this post! You know how much I love birds! My guess, is Little Bird was learning to fly and his mother was nearby. I’ve seen mother birds hover and swoop down over their young bird until it finally flutters its newly “left the nest wings” and makes it to a low lying limb. Then the mother lands nearby and the little feller continues to figure out how to use those marvelous things God gave him that makes him able to do what we mere humans cannot! FLY!!! 🙂
    That’s what I think happened!:)

    • Kinley Baker May 3, 2013 at 2:03 am #

      Awww, thank you, Darcy, for sharing your bird knowledge! He did look like he was just coming into his wings. That’s definitely what happened. He’s out there flying and causing trouble now. 🙂

  2. Jena Lang May 3, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    Love this post! I had a little bird once. Only it was a little frog. He showed up one day on the garden house, and became a mascot of sorts to me and my hubby. For days we saw that teeny frog on the hose. Then suddenly he vanished. My hubby and I joked that the frog must’ve gone and vacation and he’d be back someday. And he did come back weeks later! He sat on the garden hose for days. Then he vanished once again. We’re convinced that little frog is currently in Fiji enjoying island life. Maybe your little bird is there too. 😉

    • Kinley Baker May 4, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      I LOVE this story! Yes, he’s totally enjoying the sun on some beach. 🙂

Leave a Reply

