Never ask me for directions

6 May

I am so embarrassed. On my dog walk yesterday, a lady in a van with two kids asked me for help to find an address for a kid’s party. I didn’t recognize the street name at all. I said I was sorry, and I truly did feel bad for being extremely unhelpful.

But then I continued on my walk… And a block later, I saw the street she was looking for. I am such a dork. I never learned this cross street a block from my house.

Of course, when I went back she was gone.

I feel like such a loser. Now I’m that jerk who wouldn’t help her, even though the house was like right next to mine.

Because it wouldn’t occur to anyone that a person could be THAT HORRIBLE at directions.

Well, I just wanted to explain myself and the stranger is no longer here, so I’m doing it online. I’m sorry, stranger. I’m not intentionally rude, I’m just perpetually distracted.

I could say I’m a writer, but I don’t think that would explain my behavior to her. You understand though, right?

I am honesty that horrible at directions. As a rule, you should never ask me street names.

You can, but it will be an awkward experience all around, and we’ll all end up lost.

Thank goodness for GPS!

-Kinley Baker

4 Responses to “Never ask me for directions”

  1. Joni Hahn May 6, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    Don’t feel bad, Kinley. She should have used Google Maps. 🙂

    Women have always told me I give directions like a man. “Go east on I35, take the access road to FM 1516…” I’m like, what’s wrong with that?

    Alot of women told me I’m supposed to give directions something like “take a right by that big SuperTarget, go down until you see the house with the really pretty landscaping that looks like botanical gardens, take a left, then call me once you’re there because it’s kinda hard to explain unless you’re looking at it.”

    I have to know where I’m going before I head out. I don’t like driving in new places. I would freak if I ever got lost.

    • Kinley Baker May 8, 2013 at 3:08 am #

      I would be lost forever if I ever got truly lost. 🙂

      Thanks, Joni! I felt so bad, but I’m so useless with directions, I had nothing of value to offer.

  2. Diana Beebe May 8, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    I’d be lost without GPS. I don’t give people directions either. I will send them in the opposite direction without intending to.

    On a different note, I’m not sure what’s up with WordPress, but it’s not letting me like half the blogs I visit, including yours. Because I would like this post if WP would let me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strangers in vans are bad. Got it. | Kinley Baker's Blog - June 28, 2013

    […] Remember this post? […]

Leave a Reply

