Enjoying the moment

15 May

In this fast pace world, I think we all forget to take a step back and relax. We forget to enjoy the moment because we’re so worried about predicting the future.

Last weekend, I went to lunch with my parents. They are hilarious. Mainly because they laugh at my jokes, but also because they understand me.

I always feel comfortable around them. If I say the wrong thing, they know the context.

I often worry about saying the wrong thing in life, and I think in certain cases, this fear can prevent us from saying the right thing.

So many times I’ve said nothing, when I should have said something.

But I argue with myself that it was better to say nothing than to say the wrong thing.

It’s a confusing circle.

I had a lot of deep thoughts that will probably never form themselves into a blog post while I ate lunch and watched the ferry go by.

All I can take away from that fabulous afternoon is the understanding that I took the time to watch the ferry, instead of ride it. These days, we give everything a purpose, we assign everyone their place.

There’s always something to do.

Take a moment to stare up at the sky, watch the water wave, or your loved one smile. Whatever you have to do will still be there in a second, and maybe this will help us all slow down and enjoy the moment.

And this post is picture-less up to this point because the ferry picture won’t load! *cries softly* I’m pretty sure my frustration with technology negates the whole post. Thanks a lot, technology.

Here’s a blue sky to make us all think happy thoughts.

blue sky, author kinley baker, romance author, happy thoughts

-Kinley

2 Responses to “Enjoying the moment”

  1. Diana Beebe May 15, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Parents are awesome like that!

    Thanks for the blue sky, because my skies are filled with rain clouds. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker May 15, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      You’re welcome! I’m glad something positive came out of the great ferry debacle of 2013.

Leave a Reply

