Mrs. Fix It

22 May

Most of you know I work as an Administrative Professional because I celebrated Admin Day, and no one really does that unless they’re an admin.

But I also have a superpower that comes in handy for being an admin. I have the ability to accidentally figure things out.

What can I say? It’s a gift.

Also related to this, people don’t find this amusing. One time someone in another department was having a problem and they were obviously frustrated. They asked if I could help, and I said I could probably figure it out accidentally.

They were not amused. I hate when my jokes go over poorly. Lol.

But then I did accidentally figure it out. Don’t ask me how.

I think we’re creating a generation of fixers with our constantly advancing technology. Our brains are learning to click around Word until we figure out Track Changes, or whatever issue we’re facing.

It’s always a little awkward when someone asks me something and I have to say, “Can I go try to figure it out on my computer?”

But everyone wins when things get fixed.

What do you think? Are you a fixer?

This post really got me thinking. I think we undervalue certain skillsets. Do you have a skill that comes in super handy but doesn’t necessarily translate into a career?

I like the idea of a generation of fixers. Let’s teach kids how to problem solve. I think the ability to take something frustrating and solve the issue simply is going to make life a little easier on everyone.

-Kinley Baker

8 Responses to “Mrs. Fix It”

  1. Diana Beebe May 22, 2013 at 2:17 am #

    You have one of the best super powers ever! I love playing with a software program to fix something for someone, too.

    And you are right–we need to teach more problem-solving. If we can’t play around to figure out how something works, then we’ll never understand how to fix them. One time a teammate asked to help her because she’d spent HOURS trying to get her PC to work properly. Whatever she typed overwrote what she’d already typed. Seriously? It’s called the key, honey. At least that one wasn’t one I had to play around with to figure out, but she should have known better.

    Loved the post and your super power, Kinley!

    • Diana Beebe May 22, 2013 at 2:18 am #

      It’s called the INSERT key… The comment didn’t like the angle brackets I used. 😀

      • Kinley Baker May 22, 2013 at 2:23 am #

        Lol. I have totally had people have issues with the insert button! And when you think about it, it would be super confusing and disorienting to keep having your words typed over. I can see why it upsets people, I see that frustration a lot with computers. People just get to the point where they don’t want to look at their screens anymore.

        Are you a tech type for your day job? The other day I had to spend time on the phone with tech for problems that are beyond my realm of fixing. He told me I’d given him a challenge and he was really excited about it. I thought it was awesome. Some people are really attuned to fixing technology issues. I can only help to a certain point.

      • Diana Beebe May 22, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

        I work with technology all day, but now that I’m the lone tech writer, I don’t have any teammates who break stuff (although I’m still fixing things they left behind). I do have to help other employees navigate our document website sometimes (I didn’t get any say in developing it, so…). It’s not so bad. One of these days, I’m going to put together a presentation and teach the whole lot how to use it…

        That might just work–thanks for helping me think of that. 🙂 It’s terrifying, but necessary (I think).

        I’m just as good at breaking technology as I am fixing some things, in all honesty.

      • Kinley Baker May 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

        Glad I could help in a small way! Good luck. 🙂

  2. Jordan L. Hawk May 23, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    My husband (who works with computers) would probably say “accidental fixer” by just messing with stuff until it works is his entire job description, lol.

    • Kinley Baker May 24, 2013 at 2:27 am #

      Exactly! Lol. It’s a valuable skill, especially with computers.

  3. Joni Hahn May 23, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    I have been a fixer all of my life! In every office I’ve worked in, I’ve been the go-to person. Now at the advanced age of 29 + several years, I don’t want to be a fixer anymore. I want to fix things for myself but I want someone else to take over the reins for the office. :))

    My son was ADD and his counselor used to always tell me to stop trying to fix things for him. He had to learn to cope on his own. That was a very hard lesson to learn. Still to this day, if I see someone in my family with a problem, I try to fix it somehow. Is that obsessive, or just being a mother? Not sure. But its me. :/

Leave a Reply

