Everyone wants to be on the same page but what book is everyone reading?

1 Oct

People love to use the phrase “on the same page”. I am guilty of using this phrasing. It’s punchy and apt and it’s always good when management can say, “I’m glad we’re all on the same page.”

But I was talking to someone the other day and the question was raised, what book is everyone reading?

Where can I buy it? Is it on Amazon? Can I expense it? Does it come in paperback?

I mean, everyone wants to be on the same page, but they don’t even tell you the page number (Isn’t that life?).

If everyone is on the same page does that mean only that specific page number gets referenced? In theory, is everyone on the exact same page in the exact same book?

I like that idea. We could hold a world conference. The speaker could shout, “We are on the same page! Every single one of us unite in this moment!”

Then the crowd would cheer.

And end scene.

That would be awesome. But as much as I search the internet I can’t find this book. I tried “Random book people reference.” But no, I wasn’t talking about Twilight. And readers might be offended you’re calling their favorite book random.

I thought “same page” book might work. But no. Just a lot of seminars about togetherness.

After the scene end was sarcasm. Sometimes sarcasm goes over my head so I like to point it out. Consider me Sheldon but with longer hair and one tenth the smarts. Oh and all of his strange quirks and weird habits? I have those, too. I’m even pro-bus pants.

With that radical belief unearthed I’ll leave you until Wednesday’s post about Revolution (I’m late posting because I can’t stop watching). No spoilers! I’m still on season one.

6 Responses to “Everyone wants to be on the same page but what book is everyone reading?”

  1. Ryan King October 1, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    Knock, knock, knock. Kinley. Knock, knock, knock. Kinley. Knock, knock, knock. Kinley. Page 42. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker October 1, 2013 at 12:33 am #

      Lol! I do differ from Sheldon in that I don’t like to bother people. The knocking thing might be too much for me to pull off. 🙂

  2. Diana Beebe October 1, 2013 at 1:15 am #

    LOL. I’ll hold up the “SARCASM” sign whenever it’s needed.

    I hear the “on the same page” cliché all the time at work. From now on, I’ll think of this funny post when it’s used. I just hope I don’t say something goofy or snort my coffee in response.

    • Kinley Baker October 1, 2013 at 1:27 am #

      Lol! That’s my plan. With a straight face say… What page number? Or what book?

  3. L. E. Carmichael October 1, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    The next step is to insist that the book be YOUR book, right? 🙂

    • Kinley Baker October 1, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

      Lol. Now you know my plans for world domination.

Leave a Reply

