The thing that both fascinates and terrifies me about Revolution

9 Oct

I recently watched twenty episodes of Revolution in a row.

I had good intentions of blogging consistently last week, but then all of a sudden it was yesterday.

Where did the time go?

I know what you’re thinking…

You watched twenty episodes of Revolution. That’s where your time went.

Well, yeah, and I’m ridiculously paranoid about a blackout now, but that doesn’t make me sorry.

In Revolution, the enemy isn’t aliens or zombies (although I like when both are enemies in shows).

The scariest part about Revolution is that the enemy is ourselves.

The question is how can humanity survive in a desperate world?

I don’t mean humanity as a whole. I mean the basic fundamental line between good and evil. What happens when that line is toed, or moved, or altered? For survival. For power. For love.

It’s fascinating.

And terrifying.

Suddenly everyone is an enemy. No one can be trusted. Even families have their breaking points. How much can blood connections endure?

What damage do secrets wreck on our souls?

The way we survive defines us. What if after fifteen years of living in a post-apocalyptic world, no one innocent is left?

Everyone has been too damaged. Too scarred. They’ve lost everyone they care about. And they’re reluctant to allow strangers close.

Why would they? They’ll only lose that person, too. Like everyone else gone from their lives. Or they’ll be betrayed, as we’ve seen on the show.

Yet there is this strange kind of hope. A glimmer of something inside us that does make us choose right over wrong, even if it means ending up dead.

A piece of our soul that can’t be altered by the outside world because it lives inside us.

Is it in our DNA? Or did the world before the end make us this way?

Will children born after the apocalypse have compassion? Or will they become indifferent to violence?

It’s fascinating. And terrifying. And I can’t stop watching.

I can’t stop wondering. What does humanity mean?

In a reality that isn’t technically post-apocalyptic, are we struggling with the same questions even now?

trees, Kinley Baker, Romance Author, Zombie Apocalypse, Zombies

Don’t worry about the zombies invading. Worry about the humans.

I suppose that’s why I write fiction. Sitting around and thinking about these things without a creative outlet might drive a person to madness. Not that I’m not full up on madness. 😉

10 Responses to “The thing that both fascinates and terrifies me about Revolution”

  1. Diana Beebe October 9, 2013 at 2:10 am #

    I think the crazy thing about that show is that we really could do that to ourselves (on some levels) someday. Of course, I kinda think that about Skynet, too.

    I enjoyed watching it. (I’m twisted that way.) Do we get a third season?

    Maybe I just like watching Billy Burke without a mustache. 😀

    • Kinley Baker October 9, 2013 at 2:39 am #

      Hi Diana! Yes, I could see something like that happening in the future. Where someone has something that powerful and our fate lies in their hands. 🙂 I tend to think most things can happen. How do we really know?

      I hope there’s a third season, although so far the second season is irritating me. I dislike being irritated.

      I like Billy Burke!

  2. jolenenavarro October 9, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    The same reason I think “Lord of the Flies” is a horror book – that is us, not some made-up monster, but people, just ordinary people.

    • Kinley Baker October 9, 2013 at 3:23 am #

      Yes, exactly. Ordinary people can be scary if placed in the wrong (or is it right) circumstance. Although I haven’t read Lord of the Flies. I know the premise but not how it ends. I can guess from your comment.

  3. Pauline Baird Jones October 9, 2013 at 2:30 pm #

    I think we’ve already seen this in the world. We’ve had wars where people have had to choose to be good or evil. Have you read Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl? He is or was a holocaust survivor. He writes about being in a camp and seeing people making just those choices. It is a powerful book. I think we are all always making those choices. Between good and evil, hope and hopelessness. I suspect that, like always, the people w/o inner resources would quickly fail themselves and others. (Look at you, you made me think and early in the a.m., too! LOL!

    • Kinley Baker October 10, 2013 at 3:14 am #

      No. I haven’t read that particular book. I read a lot of books with similar themes in high school. They changed the way I think.

      I love making people think. As long as it’s not making people think they dislike me.

      • Pauline Baird Jones (@paulinebjones) October 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

        LOL! How could anyone dislike you? You’re so nice!

        I also really liked the Carrie Tenanboom (Not sure I spelled that right) book about the holocaust. I heard someone say that most of think history starts when we were born. LOL I think that happens a lot, but we can look to the past to find out things will probably work going forward. The world changes, the technology changes, but people are pretty much the same. Some good, some bad. (wry grin)

        Good blog post!

      • Kinley Baker October 11, 2013 at 1:05 am #

        You are kind, Pauline! I struggle with social awkwardness so I’m not always great at being the person in real life I think I am in my head.

        It’s all about history! History repeats. Great point. When people start realizing this we may have hope. 🙂

  4. Joni Hahn October 10, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I am a Revolution fanatic. I love the show. Characterization and stories are just phenomenal. I think our youth have already become very ho-hum about violence. But take their electricity away – talk about violence. Yeah, the show will also toss out a good old-fashioned message every once in a while. Refreshing considering the rest of the shows out there. I don’t agree with all of the messages by any means, but I will not miss an episode. AAMOF, I need to watch this weeks. 🙂 LOVE this post – and you, girl. 🙂 Like Pauline said, who could dislike you??

    • Kinley Baker October 11, 2013 at 1:03 am #

      Yes, exactly Joni! They randomly place messages in there and I don’t always agree but I always find them interesting. I guess I should call them thought provoking. I think the characterization is one of the best parts, too. Season two is testing me but it is the end of the world basically. I suppose bad things do have to happen. Lol.

Leave a Reply

