Agent news, new release news, and lots of use of the word “new”!

6 Nov

I am thrilled to announce I’m now represented by Sarah E. Younger with the Nancy Yost Literary Agency!!!

In mid-October I attended the Emerald City Writers’ Conference in the Pacific Northwest. This was my fourth year attending, and I’ve loved it every year. This year was especially exciting! I met several people I’ve been talking to for years online.

It’s always funny when people hold up their name badges and my first response is, I know you! Then they want me to hold up my badge, and yes! They know me.

This is such a great community, and putting faces to names is fantastic.

All the while I was meeting these people I was also a tad giddy for the second half of the conference.

Friday afternoon I suddenly realized I didn’t have pitches written for my Saturday morning appointments. Having spent days, months, weeks in the past putting together pitches, this realization was slightly horrifying. I was honestly just going to turn in my pitch appointments to the coordinators because in previous years other people have been able to use the appointments.

I was in a strange place. I had a book two for my contemporary series, a category paranormal romance and a fantasy romance.

For several hours I agonized over what I would do. Would I just sit down and say, “Here’s what I’ve got! What do you want to hear?”

Which made me sound a little frightening, right? I mean we all know the line between enthusiastic and terrifying is precarious at best.

Even up to the minute, I had no idea what I was going to do. In the past I’d been in groups of ten people. I didn’t want to waste other pitchers’ time because I hate doing that. Everyone spends hours preparing for those precious ninety seconds.

I ended up writing the pitches though and I was pleasantly surprised that my pitch writing skills have drastically improved since the first conference. Who knew we were learning this stuff while we agonize over rejections and what path to take next on our publishing journies?

I met with Sarah Younger, which ended up being a ten minute solo appointment. I don’t really remember all the specifics. It was something about football, then romance novels, then positive-ness.

It was a great conversation! I’ve had good pitch appointments but this one felt like we were really on the same page.

I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching the last year and Sarah really seemed to get where I wanted to go, or where I was trying to go.

I sent her several requested attachments and I tried to sit quietly and not get too excited.

Four years of actively seeking publication makes you intimately familiar with rejection. By this point you also realize why people are rejected, the value of rejection, and you know that every decision leads you one way or another.

Not only do you know rejection, you appreciate rejection. Which makes it all so much worse. It goes something like: You know this is for your own good… Yes, but it still isn’t any fun.

We spoke for a long time on the phone about a few of my current projects and she said encouraging things like “I think you might need to rewrite the last 1/3.”

Internally I was like, “Really?! I get to keep two thirds?” I was thinking I’d have to rewrite the whole thing.

Yay!

Sarah had insightful feedback that really resonated with me. With her feedback I saw potential in things I’d given up on. I saw a direction I’d been trying for a year to steer toward but couldn’t quite manage on my own.

This is where the news comes in.

I will be writing contemporary romance as Kinley Cade!

Here is my info:

Website: http://www.kinleycade.com
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/kinleycade
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorkinleycade
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/kinleycade

Don’t worry about not being able to find me. I will be keeping this blog (and address) for both names. It’s now “Kinley’s Blog” to keep it a central meeting place. You might notice at the top I have both names and the genre each name is focused on.

This will be built out as everything moves along. But anything you need to know for either name will be under the prospective tab. On the blog I’ll still be blogging about things like the perplexity of adulthood, etc.

I’ll also still be on Twitter as @KinleyBaker.

If you’re new today, welcome! Please scroll through previous posts and you’ll get the idea (hopefully). Feel free to visit again. This blog is very low key and friendly with promo only surrounding releases (And today because I’m having trouble controlling my enthusiasm).

With that said, here is the cover reveal for Kissing Her Scrooge! My first book on my new contemporary path.

Kissing Her Scrooge, Holiday Novella, Holiday Romance, Romance Author, Kinley Cade, Author Kinley Cade, Winter, Wonderland, Loving Couple, Scrooge, Tree Farmer

Blurb:

Every Christmas, Hannah Jones makes it her mission to give her hometown the perfect pageant. Even malfunctioning inflatable Santas and lost students can’t stop the self-proclaimed Miss Holiday. But the teacher may have met her mismatch in sexy but antisocial tree farmer Griff Green. Hannah’s been lusting after her new neighbor for months—and she’s determined to melt his heart by being naughty as well as nice…

He may sell trees, but Griff doesn’t do Christmas. He’s known as the town humbug—and he likes it that way. Which is why he’s been avoiding Hannah, despite the sexy visions of her that have been dancing through his head. When a surprise visit leads to a passionate kiss, he can’t deny the attraction any longer.

When Hannah discovers Griff isn’t the Scrooge he pretends to be—and she exposes his secret to the whole town—it may take a holiday miracle for their budding relationship to survive into the new year.

This is up for pre-order now HERE! It releases December 5, 2013 from Carina Press.

And it’s on Goodreads if you want to mark it to remember later HERE.

Next week I will have more info on the anthology this holiday story is a part of. I get to be part of this with two amazing additional novellas. The authors are wonderful ladies, too, which makes it better.

I want to take the opportunity to extend a huge thank you to the Carina Press team. Angela James and the Carina team have been amazing. I’ve been talking to other Carina Press authors and they’ve all had similarly great things to say. I’m always hesitant to recommend paths when people ask me because everyone’s experience is so different. But Carina has been consistently supportive and dedicated to producing the highest quality books.

You should read their books. I’ve enjoyed the last ten I’ve read.

The past few weeks have been crazy, the past year even crazier. I have no idea what the future will hold. But it’s exciting and there’s a certain level of relief in knowing I have a plan and someone else sees the potential in it.

I’ll try not to dole out too much advice because I still have so much to learn. But like with the pitches I wrote, sometimes we don’t realize how much we know about something until we start talking. I think I’m a little guilty of holding information close because I’m so afraid I’ll be wrong and someone will read a blog post in ten years and point to it and call me out.

I suppose we can’t live our lives that way. That’s one tough thing about the internet. It lives forever. If you’re unlucky enough to trip and fall and have someone catch it on camera, YouTube is your enemy.

In truth, we all have those dumb moments. We’re all guilty of being human. Which is what makes life so interesting. I hope to write more contemporary fiction based on characters experiencing those dumb moments. So we can laugh at them. Ahem. Just kidding. Kind of.

Thank you to everyone who ever supported me or said a kind word. I hope to have more fun news to share. I hope you’re all secretly sitting on amazing news you’re not quite ready share yet, too. 🙂

I’ve decided publishing is basically a ton of people sitting on exciting, secret news. So we all go talk on twitter to talk to other people who understand what we’re going through. We can’t say what we want to say, so we say other covert things.

This was an epic blog post (they’re usually much shorter), but thanks for reading until the end.

I hope whatever information I provide will help you in some way no matter where you are on your journey. Or what path you’re traveling. Or where you hope to end up.

Kinley

25 Responses to “Agent news, new release news, and lots of use of the word “new”!”

  1. Joy Dent November 6, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    Congrats! Congrats! So happy for you, sweetie! And I love the name, Kinley Cade!

  2. Rachel Firasek November 6, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    Congrats, honey! I’m so excited of you.

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 12:49 am #

      Thanks, Rachel! And thanks for all the great feedback. 🙂

  3. Joni Hahn November 6, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    WTG, Kinley!! SO happy for you!

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:16 am #

      Thank you, Joni! Your support has been amazing. 🙂

  4. Diana Beebe November 6, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    Congratulations, Kinley! I’m so excited for you!

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

      Thank you, Diana! I’m pretty excited, too. 🙂

  5. Lisa Kessler November 6, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    YAY!!!!! I’m so happy for you!!!! This is awesome news and it’s only the tip of the iceberg!

    Love the cover too!!!

    WOOT!!!

    *HUGS*

    Lisa 🙂

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      Thank you, Lisa!! So glad you love the cover, too. You always have great advice!

      • Lisa Kessler November 6, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

        Now I’ll be able to say I knew her when… LOL 😀

  6. Alison Packard November 6, 2013 at 1:57 am #

    Congrats, Kinley! It couldn’t happen to a nicer person!

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

      Thanks, Alison! I’m excited to share about the anthology next week!

  7. Ryan King November 6, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    YAY 🙂 That is great news. *fist pump*

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      Thanks, Ryan! Team Kristen really helped me get ready for all the changes.

  8. Jena Lang November 6, 2013 at 4:01 am #

    Whoo-hoo! Congrats, Kinley!! I love your new name, website, and book cover.

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      I’m so glad you like them, Jena! Thank you. 🙂

  9. S.K.Falls (@skfallssc) November 6, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Congrats, Kinley! 🙂 I am so thrilled for you! I have a feeling it’s only a matter of time before I see your name regularly appear on the NYT list. ❤

  10. L. E. Carmichael November 6, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Way to go, Kinley! So proud of you. 🙂

  11. Pauline Baird Jones November 6, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    Congratulations!!! Very happy for you!

    • Kinley Baker November 6, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Thanks, Pauline! Lots of good things happening for our team. 🙂

  12. Crista McHugh November 6, 2013 at 6:01 pm #

    Congrats, Kinley!!!

Leave a Reply

