Let’s get serious about football fandom and being a female

25 Nov

Okay, so those of you who don’t know, I absorb a lot about football. And I mean absorb because most of it is passive. We watch football all day on Saturdays and Sundays. Honestly, most of the time I am doing that while also writing, reading, or catching up on shows.

So it’s not like I’m the hugest football fan in the world. I will never claim to be the hugest fan of anything because I’m usually distracted, which takes away from the fandom.

I’m lost in other worlds and/or zoning out.

We have season tickets to the college team my husband loves and we flew to St. Louis to watch the Seahawks play on Monday Night Football. We’ve gone to a few games and had a conversation about possibly moving into the apartments they are building across from the stadium.

So yes, I am mainly a fan of football because of my husband. I’m not sure if I would listen to so much sports talk radio or watch as much NFL network without him (that doesn’t take away from the fact I enjoy doing both).

On the other side, football is a perfect match to my personality. I don’t like most female endeavors and that often leaves me feeling like a failure.

I don’t understand shopping or the appeal of shoes (other than their efficiency in a zombie apocalypse), but I do understand the thrill of a good hit and the high of a roaring stadium.

(You can like shopping and football, I’m not saying you can’t. So please don’t take that away from that comment. It’s just a societal view of what women enjoy doing and I’m using it as an example because I’ve never understood the appeal of shopping.)

I like to talk (what the world sees as) guy stuff because it comes natural as opposed to when I talk female (what the world sees as) it’s mainly me feeling like I’m trying to catch up and/or care at all.

It’s a weird place to be. But I’ve been living this football interested life for a few years.

And I’m starting to get ticked off.

I’m starting to listen to guys talk football and they have no idea what they’re talking about.

I’m starting to listen to guys talk sports and one guy (from Seattle) even said he didn’t know Griffey came back to Seattle to end his career. If I know more about baseball than you do, you know nothing about baseball.

(Come on, man!)

I’m starting to realize that a lot of people pretend they follow football and they don’t.

One time in an elevator at my day job a man was talking about the Texas college game and I randomly said, I watched that game (on accident but I did watch the game) and I had more to contribute to the conversation than the other guy he was originally addressing.

Yet, I’m a girl. So I constantly live on the edge of losing my sports street cred.

An example is Alex Smith.

I know his whole story. Probably because I dislike the 49ers (Sorry! SEAHAWKS.). But I know his story.

Yet I listen to guys say, doesn’t he play for the Browns?

I’m thinking, no you idiot. He played for the 49ers and did just fine. He got injured and the new guy came along and replaced him. And now the new guy isn’t even having a very good season. And Kansas City (the actual place where Mr. Smith plays) is doing awesome (except they lost yesterday—thanks for lessening the effectiveness of my argument). SO whatever.

And that is my nice girl way of explaining it because I’m a girl and I’m nice (except for the idiot comment).

Anyway, so I’m in the ring with guys who don’t know what they’re talking about. Yet, if I say ONE THING that isn’t correct, the guy I’m talking to writes me off.

If I can’t come up with the name, or I say a guy isn’t that good and the other person thinks I’m crazy for that view, I lose their football attention.

They no longer want to talk sports with me.

It’s a really complicated position to be in. And I just wanted to put it out into the universe.

I like football. I’m a fan. I’m a female. And I probably know more about Matt Flynn than you.

Seahawks, Football, Female Fandom, Kinley Baker, Kinley Cade, Romance Author, Sports Romance

Kinley Baker/Kinley Cade

8 Responses to “Let’s get serious about football fandom and being a female”

  1. Rebecca Crowley November 25, 2013 at 6:59 am #

    Great post, Kinley! I’m a fan of a different kind of football (ie soccer) and the amount of mansplaining I encounter is wearying.

    I’ll never forget the moment a couple of years back when I found myself in a mostly-male conversation about who should replace Arsene Wenger as the Arsenal manager (they were having a terrible season at the time and common wisdom was he should leave). During a beat of perplexed silence I suggested Martin O’Neill, a great turnaround manager who had just unexpectedly left Aston Villa. The surprised, incredulous expressions, like they’d forgotten I was there… Amazing. And ridiculous.

    Unfortunately mansplaining is everywhere – car mechanics, gym personnel, and any kind of financial product salespeople are frequent culprits in my experience. I’m not sure what we can do about it, since mansplainers aren’t exactly listeners, but if you figure it out I’d love to know! It would save me a LOT of time in my day. 😉

    • Kinley Baker November 26, 2013 at 1:03 am #

      Thanks for the comment, Rebecca! It is tough to break into sports conversations. A lady has to be strategic about it. But it sounds like your opening was well thought out. We’ll just have to stick together when it comes to loving sports. 🙂

  2. Pauline Baird Jones November 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    The more things change, the more they don’t. It’s gotten a little better since the 70’s (yes, I’m that old), but there are things that don’t seem to change. The great divide between men and woman…not so much. LOL (it’s really bad in geek world, too.)

    • Kinley Baker November 26, 2013 at 1:05 am #

      So true, Pauline! It’s crazy how some things seem like they can’t change. They’ll be having this conversation in 100 years.

  3. Stacy McKitrick November 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    I love sports and hate shopping, too! And here I thought I was weird. So nice to see I’m not alone!

    However, I don’t absorb sports. I like to watch, not listen to the commentary. I’m not always sure who is playing where (and don’t even get me started on stats – couldn’t care less), I just root for my team, so I would be lousy in a sports conversation. Doesn’t mean I don’t understand the game or don’t love it.

    • Kinley Baker November 26, 2013 at 1:06 am #

      It’s so nice to meet someone like me! Lol.

      I’m totally with you. I don’t care about specific stats, just general trends so it helps me predict who’s going to win.

      Thanks for visiting, Stacy!

  4. Julie Brannagh (@julieinduvall) November 26, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    I love sports, hate shopping and can’t figure out how other women manage to wear mascara without the dreaded raccoon eyes.

    Rock on, Kinley!

    • Kinley Baker November 26, 2013 at 1:28 am #

      You also rock on, Julie! I just remember when my mom would take me shopping for hours when I was little and I would just wonder, why are we doing this??? Why did I do wrong to end up here? Lol.

Leave a Reply

