The time my husband was like… do you really want to start obliging gender stereotypes in this relationship?

27 Nov

And I said, no.

The other day I said to my husband, go do (insert something) in the yard.

And he was like no.

And I was like, you’re the man, go do it (which is against everything I believe in but I said it).

And he was like, do you really want to start going by gender stereotypes in this relationship?

And I was desperately like, NO. Because holy hell if we did that I’d be screwed.

Kinley Baker/Kinley Cade

5 Responses to “The time my husband was like… do you really want to start obliging gender stereotypes in this relationship?”

  1. Pauline Baird Jones November 27, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    When you’re my age, you learn to work around the hyprocrisy. LOL The rule in our house is: I am always right. Even when I’m wrong.(grin)

    • Kinley Baker November 27, 2013 at 2:26 am #

      Even with my best intentions I’m a hypocrit sometimes. Which is why I try so hard not to judge people. But alas, human nature (my cop out… Lol).

      • Kinley Baker November 27, 2013 at 2:32 am #

        I think I spelled hypocrite wrong! And I call myself a writer.

  2. Jolen Navarro November 27, 2013 at 3:45 am #

    haha – I use to struggle with being fair – hey but after 27 years – I’m like yeah it is good for our kids to see their dad wash dishes and wash his own cloths – me getting the car fixed, oil changed or new tires – eh doesn’t help anyone. Yes, there are some things I see no need for me to do. I can change a tire if i need to and I’ve been known to fix a leak in the sink – so I’m good. We have learned to live by the old rule – If mama ain’t happy nobody’s happy. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker December 1, 2013 at 2:22 am #

      I think the important part is that everyone feels the arrangement is fair. If not everyone agrees that’s when resentment starts. I struggle with doing my part though because I don’t cook or really go in the kitchen at all. Lol.

Leave a Reply

