Maintaining ridiculousness during traumatic experiences like a champ

6 Aug

It occurred to me that I rarely share online what I’m going through in real life and this makes it a little awkward. So I’m going to share a bit more about myself.

Last week I went in for a liver biopsy. It sounds kind of scary and I’d describe how they do it but it’s graphic and makes me shiver, but really, it’s not that big of a deal. It’s pretty basic. In… Out… Done.

Except apparently rarely you can get severe nerve pain? I was heavily drugged for most of the medical explanation but I reacted badly to the biopsy and all I remember is lots of doctors and an emergency x-ray and an emergency ultrasound and etc. until they decided I was okay and sent me home with pain meds.

My first lucid thought was… I’m totally giving a character nerve pain because I know what it’s like!

(There’s a purpose to the story, I swear.)

Also.

Even when all of this was happening I told the doctor, “Sorry for being high-maintenance,” which is a really ridiculous thing to say. *pumps arms in the air like a champ*

Then I felt really insecure about the drama because I turned out to be okay and my husband was sitting in the corner of the hospital room watching all of this.

Anyway, it took me a lot longer to heal than they first told me it would take. And my husband made the comment that Kinley Recovery Time always seems to be twice as long as everyone else.

My first instinct was to say “YOU LIE!” But then he said when I go to the dentist and have completely healthy teeth I can’t eat for the rest of the day and I realized it was true.

I take longer to heal. It’s the same when I get sick.

Guess that goes to show everyone is different and unique and sometimes we have qualities that are inconvenient but life is all about patching over the inconveniences and finding ways to deal.

So that’s my story about the hospital. I want it on record that I maintained my ridiculousness even during trying times.

Kinley Baker (@KinleyBaker)
Kinley Cade (@KinleyCade)

10 Responses to “Maintaining ridiculousness during traumatic experiences like a champ”

  1. Rachel Lacey August 6, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

    Yikes Kinley! Glad you’re okay – sorry it was such a painful experience.

    • Kinley Baker August 6, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

      Thanks, Rachel. My mantra for this year is… It could have been worse. Lol. But yeah, totally going in a book.

  2. livrancourt August 6, 2014 at 6:30 pm #

    Never apologize – never explain.
    And yeah, take care of yourself. I don’t care how in-out-done a liver biopsy is, it’s still about something sharp poking into something that would be better left alone.

    • Kinley Baker August 7, 2014 at 2:11 am #

      I think my new goal in life is to stop apologizing for everything. I do it too often.

  3. prudencemacleod August 6, 2014 at 10:34 pm #

    Kinley, glad you’re okay. You’re going to give a character nerve pain? Now that’s a writer in action. I’m proud of you. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker August 7, 2014 at 2:12 am #

      Thank you! It seems like a waste of a bad experience if I don’t put it in a book. Lol.

  4. Lisa Kessler August 7, 2014 at 5:06 am #

    Yikes!!! I’m glad you’re okay…

    *HUGS*

    My Mom had one of those and even though she didn’t have severe nerve pain it wasn’t a comfy thing… You definitely don’t need to apologize! 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    Lisa 🙂

  5. Jeffrey McChesney August 7, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    Glad your doing ok! I know it is hard to share those moments about our personal lives because we like to keep them personal. I’ve heard that nerve pain is not very comfortable.

Leave a Reply

