Five ways to make 2016 better than 2015

25 Jan

This new year I felt especially determined to make positive changes in my life. I’m not sure why it was so vital to start over, but I think I’ve gone through a lot lately, and I’m really ready to embrace decisions that will make me happier and healthier.

So five goals for 2016 are:

1.) Read more books

I always read a lot of books, but this year I’m going to track how many. Some of you read fifty books a year and I think that’s awesome! I know I’ve read that many in a year before, but with a little one, it takes me much longer to read. In fact, two of the books I’ve read so far this year were me staying awake until 1 AM. This was not the best decision, but worth it. So far I’ve read four new books and re-read two books.

2.) Track word count and revisions

This year I really want to track what I’m reading and writing. Last year I felt pretty disappointed about what I’d accomplished, and I think it’s because I don’t remember how much work I put in. It’s important to remember how far we’ve come, even when we don’t have tangible proof. I hope to write four new books this year. I’m almost done with the first one.

3.) Enjoy spending time with family

I think this one is self-explanatory. I love my family and really want to be present with my full attention when I’m with them.

The child is starting to imitate me. AHHH. Everyone get scared.

CZAz83rWYAAj14s

Mother Like Son

4.) Try something new

I think this might be self-publishing an entirely new YA series. I’m gearing up for it, we’ll see. If I decide not to do this, I hope I do something else new and exciting. I know my husband and I have a few fun day trips planned this year for birthdays and our anniversary, so that will be exciting.

5.) Be healthier

I really want to eat healthier and work out more. As of today, I’m struggling with this. I hope to get there. I really do feel better when I eat less processed food and cut all beverages but water. I did this during my pregnancy, including no caffeine, but I’m not sure I can do the no caffeine thing now. Diet Coke, I love you.

What do you hope for 2016?

NOTE: Please let me know if you’re interested in beta reading, critiquing, or just reading to tell me if you like it, a YA Paranormal Romance. The series is called Shifting High. First book hero is a bumbling but adorable football player bear shifter. Heroine is a socially awkward smart loner who has a secret even she doesn’t know about. 45K.

-Kinley Baker/Kinley Cade
@KinleyBaker
@KinleyCade

2 Responses to “Five ways to make 2016 better than 2015”

  1. Juni Desireé January 25, 2016 at 7:17 am #

    I think I have similar goals. Mainly I’m dedicating 2016 to doing the things that make me come alive. Reading, writing and creating are my focus.

Leave a Reply

