January Stats

20 Feb

Hey all!

My weekly Monday blog posts fell off because we had some fun times but everything is fine and hopefully we’ll approach normal at some point. Whatever that is. Ha.

Shoot, I see my supposed-to-be-napping son moving on the baby monitor. I better do this fast!

Beginning in 2016, it was my intention to post my writing stats at the end of each month to keep myself accountable and remember at the end of 2016 I did indeed work beyond the obvious things. Here’s January!

January Stats:
New Word Count: 24,722
Other Writing: 6,013
Total New Books Read: 5
Total Books Re-Read: 2

All in all a great month! Unfortunately life turned sideways so I haven’t written new words yet this month. I did revise a manuscript though. This month won’t be completely empty, plus there are books I’ve read and other writerly administrative tasks. For instance, I wrote a synopsis.

Overall, lots of new changes! I’m still trying to adjust to everything. I’m pretty sure this will be ongoing…forever?

 

Next week, I’ll do an excellent blog post about puppies or something equally as cool (not that there is anything). Everyone loves puppies. I do!

Joker

See? 🙂

UPDATED: Oh! I forgot. Also, I’d love if you shared your January Stats in the comments or did a post and linked it. I’d really like to start a fun accountability group. But sometimes these things just have to start naturally so we’ll see.

Much love!
Kinley

6 Responses to “January Stats”

  1. livrancourt February 21, 2016 at 8:44 am #

    Good job in January! I hope your little dude is feeling better. I didn’t keep track of my word count, but my partner Irene & I recently finished the first draft of Vespers. I also did some major surgery on Aqua Follies, which was a little over half done at the end of the month. It always takes me longer to revise than I think it will.
    😉

    • Kinley Baker February 21, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

      I know what you mean! The sci-fi is the first time in a long time I’m revising a first draft and it’s taking forever. Good job on Vespers! I hope February is going well even though it’s already the 21st. How did that happen? The little one still had a fever yesterday but fingers crossed it broke overnight.

  2. L. E. Carmichael February 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    The new author photo is adorable! You look sweet and approachable, but with a little twinkle of mischief in there, too. Congrats on a great January.

    • Kinley Baker February 21, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

      Thank you! That’s what I was going for. Haha. Can’t keep out the mischief. I hope you’re having a great 2016!

  3. jolenenavarro February 22, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    Our lives are like rivers that change direction with each heavy rain or long drought. I’ve had some issues come up that made me aware of how important balance it – It is so easy to shut down when everything gets overwhelming – but with a goal and a plan this will be a great year. As you adjust to a new life in your life – I’m adjusting to the other end – my youngest of four is in his last year of high school and his basketball team is in the playoffs. I will not miss these moments. SO I have to figure how everything else will work around these last moments of his childhood. Yes!! to a happy, healthy and productive 2016. OH, and that new picture is all you – makes me want to hang out with you. 🙂

    • Kinley Baker March 2, 2016 at 12:47 am #

      I will hang out with you anytime! I’m glad the picture is what I was going for. My son is almost a year old. I can’t believe how fast time is going. I can’t imagine him being grown and leaving the nest. I hope your balance continues as you adjust to this new chapter. Life seems to be a constant adjustment. I’m certainly doing my best to appreciate every moment. 😀😀

Leave a Reply

